## **Bygdelagenes Fellesraad Annual Meeting Minutes**

May 5, 2018

The 102nd annual meeting of Bygdelagenes Fellesraad was held on Saturday, May 5, 2018, at Mindekirken, the Norwegian Lutheran Memorial Church in Minneapolis, MN. Board members present were Elaine Hasleton, Marilyn Sorensen, Robert Torkelson, EuGene Rodi, Don Teigen, and Jean Knaak. Board members absent were Nancy Pickering and Mary Gross.

President Elaine Hasleton called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM. The Pledge of Allegiance was followed by the singing of the anthems from America, Canada, and Norway accompanied by Laurel Dikken... Elaine then introduced Fellesraad executive board members.

**Secretary's Report:** Minutes from last year's annual meeting were in member's packets for review prior to the meeting. Elaine asked for corrections or additions to the minutes. None being given the minutes were approved.

**Treasurer's Report:** The annual financial report and budget for the year ending April 30, 2018 was included in member's packets for review. Treasurer Robert Torkelson reported that total receipts were \$2,254.00 and expenses were \$2,569.14 for expenses over income of \$315.14. Checking account balance is currently \$4,838.98. Investments balance is currently \$111,417.67 with total assets of \$116,256.65. Robert asked for corrections or additions. None being given the report was placed on file.

**President's Report:** Elaine used a power point to identify activities for 2017-2018. She discussed stevner participation, Norway House partnership along with Fellesraad matching funds, visibility of Fellesraad and Norwegian Lag Week. She emphasized that all attendees representing lags should build interest in Fellesraad by distributing Fellesraad brochures. She encouraged in the coming year working on continuing visibility, finding new partners with common goals, ramping up our social media, obtaining 501c3 non-profit status, turning in historical lag materials to NAHA, attempting to the 21st century, and continuing to work with Norway House for fund raising and the design of the new facility.

**Vice President's Report:** Marilyn Sorensen had a power point for her report. She has been working with Norway House for the plans for the Bibliotek. For Norwegian Lag Week she initially started with 5 attendees and she traced its history over 14 years to the current day. Norwegian Lag Week for 2019 is planned from March 3 to March 9.

**Director/Webmaster's Report:** EuGene Rodi reported that main-site pages have been modified to run on most devices, automatically adjusting to display on screens, tablets, and phones He mentioned developing a short statement for each lag to be included on the webpage.

**Director/Editors Report:** Nancy Pickering provided a written report about the Stevne Planning Database Project and of the Editor's Roundtable held at the annual meeting in 2017.

Roll Call of Lags: Jean Knaak led the roll call with the following voting members listed:

Gudbrandsdalslaget: Delegates Richard Lundgren and Jim Olson

Hadeland: Delegates Dale Hovland and Anne Sladky

Hallinglag: Delegates Gene Brandvold and Sandra Nelson

Hardanger Lag: Delegates Don Teigen and Jim Oakland

Landingslag: Delegates Eric Goplin and Ann Delano

Møre og Romsdalslag: Delegates Lee Brown and Amy Jacobson

Nordfjord Lag: Delegates Bob O'Neil and Dennis Sorheim

Nordfjord Lag Wisconsin: none present

Nord Hedmark og Hedmarken Lag: Delegate John Reindl and Joy Shong

Nordhord Lag: Delegate LaRee Opdahl

Nordlandslag Delegates Linda Havir and Shirley Sampson

Numedalslagen Lag: Delegates Sonja Thune and Laurel Dikken

RDD Lag: Delegates Peg Schellin and Lynn Nord

Rogalandslag: Delegate Robert Torkelson and Marie Heskowitz

Romerikslag: Delegates Joel Botten and Eunice Helgeson

Lappmark Lag: none present

Sigdalslag: Delegates Jean Borgerding and Lila Harp

Sognalag: Delegates Martha Blomberg and Evelyn Daley

Sognefjord Lag: Delegate Lucy Ghastin and Marvel Anderson

Solørlag: Delegate Doug Johnson and Kathy Johnson

Sunnfjord Lag: Delegate Tammy Foster and Julie Clauson

Sunnhordland Lag: Delegates Sheryl Hove and Loren Opdahl

Telelag: Delegates Jim Oftelie and Jeffrey Huset

Totenlag: Delegates George Olson, Jr and Judy Evenson

Trønderlag: Delegate Robert Fossum

Valdres Samband: Delegate Tom Standal and Ken Svor

Vestlandslag: Delegates Ann Romo and Janet Brandt

Vosselag: Richard Flisland

Unfinished Business: none

New Business: none

**Election:** Bob O'Neil announced that all other executive board members listed on the ballot had agreed to continue in their positions. He asked for nominations from the floor for all board positions. None being given he declared the slate elected. Elected for another term were Elaine Hasleton, President, Marilyn Sorensen, Vice President, Mary Gross, Secretary, Robert Torkelson, Treasurer, Webmaster/Director 1 Eugene Rodi, Director 2 Don Teigen, Director 3 Jean Knaak, and Director 4 Nancy Pickering.

Stevne and lag reports were given on Friday and included information on the 2017 stevner and plans for the 2018 stevner.

**Announcements:** Next year's annual meeting will be held May 3 and 4, 2019 with special programming offered again.

**Adjournment:** Elaine adjourned the meeting at 11:25 AM.

Respectfully submitted,

Jean Knaak Substituting for Mary Gross Fellesraad Secretary